The Daufuskie Island History Museum's collection reflects the history of this unique Lowcountry island, from its pre-Colonial days through the mid 20th Century. Highlights include a copy of the original land grant from England's King George II to Dave and Francis Mongin in 1735, an early 19th Century family Bible, a restored 1890s organ, an eleven and a half foot stuffed alligator, coins, military buttons, Indian arrowheads and photographs dating back to plantation days.
Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation
President: Geoff Brunning
Vice President: Andy Mason
Executive Director/Secretary: Nancy Ludtke
Treasurer: Susan Copty
Sallie Ann Robinson
Historical Consultant: Yvonne Wilson
The Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation was founded in 2001 to preserve the historical and cultural heritage of Daufuskie Island, South Carolina. To further public knowledge and appreciation of Daufuskie Island, the Foundation has acquired and restored historic buildings, established an island history museum, created a self-guided trail of historic island sites, and begun an island history archive.
The Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation is a 501(C)3 charitable organization.