Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation
The Gullah of Daufuskie Island, SC
On January 10, 2010 the following Project Description was presented for a Historic Preservation Award:
The Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation has recently leased the historic Jane Hamilton School from the Beaufort County Board of Education. The school was built by WPA workers in 1940 for the purpose of educating the native children on the northern end of Daufuskie Island who were unable to walk to the existing Mary Field School on the south end of the island. The land was donated by Jane Hamilton, a native islander of Daufuskie Island. The school is located adjacent to the Billie Burn Museum (formerly the Mount Carmel Baptist Church No. 2) which is owned and operated by the Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation. Through grants and capital campaigns, the Board of the DIHF raised the dollars to restore the Jane Hamilton School for the purpose of adding an annex to the Billie Burn Museum. Located in the annex are additional cultural and historical artifacts of the island, as well as the Gullah Learning Center, which presents the history of the Gullah Culture to residents and visitors to Daufuskie Island. The Gullah Learning Center exhibit panels fully describe the rich heritage of the African American people of Daufuskie Island. The Jane Hamilton School also houses the Daufuskie Island Community Library.